SMA Quarterback Club holds football awards banquet

The 53rd St. Marys Area Quarterback Club Football Awards Banquet was held Saturday night at the St. Marys Area High School.The banquet is held to recognize the members of the St. Marys Area High School Flying Dutch football program, including players, coaches and cheerleaders.The dinner was held in the school cafeteria, followed by the awards portion of the evening, which was held in Carpin Auditorium.Terry Straub, acting as master of ceremonies for the evening, welcomed everyone to the awards portion of the night.Quarterback Club President Steve Aul welcomed everyone to the affair. He turned the podium over to St. Marys Area School Board President Joe Goetz, who presented Karen Verbeck with a plaque recognizing her 15 years as a member of the Quarterback Club. She will also receive a lifetime pass to all St. Marys Area sporting events.Aul then recognized Bob Luchini and Ed Calla on becoming Honorary Members of the club for attaining the 10-year plateau.He recognized his fellow officers, vice president Pete McMackin, secretary Bob Cogley and treasurer George Young. He then recognized his wife, Marie, for all her help.Aul noted that this is the night they reflect on the 2010 season, the night that the club cherishes and takes pride in the most. He said that the club welcomes all parents of football players or those interested in St. Marys Area football to join the organization, and that the club cannot continue without the help of the parents. The next meeting will be held Feb. 3 at 8 p.m. in the upstairs of the P.F.L. He also noted that there will be an Alumni Football Game in May of this year.Head cheerleading advisor Justina States introduced the members of the varsity and junior high squads, who received recognition by the Quarterback Club. Members of the varsity squad are Katie Spencer, Allison Kosminski, Jolene Herbstritt, Karly Bish, Emily Slaughenhaupt, Kaylin Smith, Alana Stauffer, Lacey Hanes, Casey Johnston, Sara Brouse, Tori Rooker, Paige Werner, Cheyenne Hoffman and Allison McCurdy, who was the Dutch mascot for the football season. Members of the junior high squad are Kylee Ehrensberger, Sierra Ginther, Alli Orenak, Megan Henderson, Ashley Krise and Hali Butler.The cheerleaders presented the senior football players with scrapbooks from the 2010 season.Head junior high coach Gary Lewis said that he is very proud of this year’s class, as he has been the junior high coach for four years and the seniors were the members of his first team. He said this year’s junior high team of 43 kids stuck together through adversity. Along with help from his assistant coaches Aaron Nicklas, Seth Rhed, Ed White and Dean McClain, the following members of the junior high teams were recognized: Nick Bauer, Evan Gabor, Justin Schaberl, Kyle Ehrensberger, William McGonnell, Kyle Glatt, Nolan Sorg, Ryne Berry, Michael Rearick, Seth Badeau, Blake Dinsmore, Alex Feldbauer, Daniel Salinas, Alex Tyger, Ray Kline, Tyler Burke, Joshua Burns, Tyler Updyke, Austin Wolfel, Brock Lewis, Dylan Smith, Brady Bauer, Derek Taylor, Zach Timchak, Jordan Straub, James Prechtl, Alex Klender, Ben Thompson, Cody Porter, Matt Fitzgerald, Michael Wolfel, Dylan Meyer, John Caskey, Kyle Fedder, Ryan Miller, Jacob Fritz, Christian Keller, Tim Shrubb, Sean Gray, Josh Cameroni, Nick Burdick and Nick Proesl.Head football coach Joe Schlimm gave out several acknowledgments. He introduced his staff, Jim McGonnell, Rob Schreiber, Tony Defilippi, Jim Swanson and Mike Kunes.Schlimm addressed his seniors by asking them how they measured up to their mission statement, “personal growth, team success and meaningful experience.”In their four years, the program has had 26 wins, played for two district championships and won their first District 9 playoff game. According to Schlimm, the seniors have epitomized the mission statement.To the returning players, Schlimm said that the program has elevated its expectations and discussed what kind of mark players will leave on the program. He said players should try to make the program better and stronger than when they found it, and that players will become better people for having been a part of the program. “Who wants to step up and be the difference maker?” he asked of the underclassmen. A short presentation on the 2010 season was also shown.Schlimm recognized his managers for the 2010 season: Amy Donachy, Jessie Donachy, Alexa Stauffer and Matt Kronenwetter.Varsity letters and certificates of participation were presented to the following members of the varsity squad: Sophomores Alex Coudriet, Kyle Gaton, Robbie Glass, Cody Baker, Joe Luchini, Colby Mahovlich, Logan Gilmore, Shajuan Carrero, Sam Hutton, Colby Lenox, Tyler Cuneo, Eric O’Dell and Matt Lindemuth; juniors Justin Quiggle, Luke Schreiber, David Aul, Scott Barber, Trenton Schreiber, Allan Gursky, Jusson Glatt, Sam Guido, Matt Bryant, Jimmy Werner, Brian Merritt, Mitchell DeLullo, Jimmy McClain and Joe Pyne; and seniors Brad Yetzer, Kevin Hoy, Darren Lyon, Kyle Wolfel, Kyle Schneider, John Kronenwetter, Ryan Merritt, Nick DeStephano, Bryan Eichmiller, Jimmy Antonelli, Josh Rogers and Robert Rollick.The major award winners, as chosen by the Quarterback Club, were presented with the following:The Dr. Valigorsky Memorial Award, which is presented to the student/athlete, went to Brad Yetzer.The Jerry Sain “Oil Can” Award, for leadership, was presented to Kevin Hoy.The Dr. Black Memorial Award for the MVP Defense was presented to Kyle Schneider.The Dr. Keebler Memorial Award for the MVP Offense was presented to Jimmy Antonelli.The Tex Knouse/Dan Conners Memorial Award for the overall MVP was presented to Robert Rollick.The evening was closed with a benediction by Rob Schreiber.