SMA honor society ceremonies held

Photo submitted - First-year members include (first row) Kayla McMackin, Abigail Adamski, Alexis Cunningham, Isabella Ehrensberger, Zoe Ehrensberger, Emily Glatt, Carley Gray, Rachael Johnson, Olivia Mosier, Ann Tyger, (second row) Katelynn Decker, Sophia Cadori, Alyssa Dobson, Jordan Huff, Alayna Pesce, Kira Pesce, Kali Tarle, Logan Luchs, Nathan McAnany, (third row) Ryan Bressler, John Copello, Alexander Agosti, Paul Armanini, Mitchell Bille, Lucas Erich, Cody Ritter, Ryan Schauer and Matthew Fleming.
Staff Writer

The St. Marys Area High School recently held their induction ceremony for the National Honor Society and the National Technical Honor Society.
The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character.
Since 1921 those four main purposes have guided chapters of NHS from the beginning: “To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership and to develop character in the students of secondary schools.”
This year the St. Marys Area High School recognized members that maintained these ideals for two years and welcomed members that have met these areas for one year.
The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) honors the achievements of top Career, Technical Education students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce. For over 30 years, NTHS strives to bring well deserved recognition, scholarship opportunities, and career opportunities to students who excel in one of the 108 career and technical educational fields as their profession.


Local Social Media Posts