Elk Catholic holds Spring Athletic Awards program

The annual Spring Athletic Awards program for the Elk County Catholic High School spring sports athletes was held on Tuesday evening in the high school auditorium.The evening opened with invocation by Father Ross Miceli, followed by the welcome by Athletic Club President Chris Schneider. Principal Sandy Florig gave an overview of the evening’s program, followed by the acknowledgements by Athletic Director Aaron Straub.The first items on the evening’s agenda was the awarding of the Tri-Sport Certificates by Coach Wee J. Fernan. The 56 recipients of this certificate participated in three varsity sports during the 2010-2011 school year. They were:Female athletes: Sophie Assalone, Michaela Cashmer, Hayley DaCanal, Taylor DaCanal, Emma Daghir, Helen Danz, Megan Dornisch, Megan Fritz, Emily Gregory, Kristy Hanes, Anna Hawkins, Michelle Imbrogno, Maura Keyes, Leah Kucenski, Hannah McGowan, Morgan Onink, Abbi Petrosky, Ellie Petrosky, Maria Scacchitti, Marla Scacchitti, Maggie Sorg, Rachel Stauffer, Jena Struble, Maria Tettis, Sadie Viglione and Stephanie Zimmerman.Male athletes: Hank Cappiello, Ryan Childs, Ben Cortina, Andrew Cotter, Ben Daghir, Joey Ferragine, Mitchell Gahr, Andrew Gebauer, Josh Gebauer, Mitchel Haberberger, Tyler Herzing, Joe Hoffman, Corey Huff, Vincent Jacob, Matt Jerko, Corey Koss, Caleb Lecker, Colton Lecker, Brock McCullough, Joe McLaughlin, Shea Meyer, Mitchell O’Neill, Ricky Pearsall, Scott Reichard, Ben Reuscher, Brandon Schlimm, Darren Simons, Eric Wehler, Nick Werner and Ben Wortman.The awarding of the three-year letter winner certificates were made by the various coaches. Recipients were: Tennis-Kyler Breakey, Kevin Detsch, Shane Mancuso, Jon Leuschel and Ben Wortman. Baseball-Ben Daghir, Luke Daghir and Ricky Pearsall. Softball-Jessie McLaughlin. Track and Field-Helen Danz, Joe Georgino, Caleb Lecker, Sam Mosebarger, Tess Onink, Abbi Petrosky, Maggie Sorg, Harley Thompson and Andrew Wolfe.Four-year varsity letter plaques were presented to: Tennis-Jarid DeCarli. Softball-Anna Hawkins. Track and Field-Megan Dornisch, Molly Eshbach, Emily Gregory, Ellie Petrosky, Jared Schaut, Kate Singer and Dan Steudler.Varsity jackets were awarded to seniors-Ben Daghir, Luke Daghir, Josh Feldbauer, Alexa Hansen, Julia Scacchitti and Samantha Smith; juniors-Michael Jacob, Dan Johnson and Lyndsey Trumbull; sophomores-Brock McCullough, Elizabeth Nicklas, Scott Reichard and Cassie Thompson; freshmen-Rachel Glatt and Kennedy Weisner.Track and field coach John Schneider gave an overview of the season, highlighting the records set by this year’s squad. He then presented the coaching awards:Outstanding Performer Award to Megan Dornisch and Jared Schaut.Coaches Award for dedication and commitment to Tess Onink and Ellie Petrosky.Coaches Award for persistence and perseverance to Dan Steudler and Harley Thompson.Junior high track and field coach Bruce Sherry gave an overview of their season, highlighting the records set and their 5-1 record.Tennis coach Nick Caggiano went over the 2011 boys' tennis season, hitting on some of the high points, then presented his awards. The Coaches Award went to Jarid DeCarli and the Most Improved Player Award to Nate Dattoli.Head baseball coach Father Eric Vogt noted that the baseball team is presently 13-3 and hopes to advance well into the District and State playoffs which are coming up. He presented Leadership Awards to Ben Daghir, Luke Daghir and Ricky Pearsall.Junior varsity baseball coach Mike Cortina highlighted the junior varsity season, noting that they are presently 8-1 on the season with a few games remaining.Dr. Joe Coroso, girls' softball coach, highlighted the Lady Crusaders' season, noting that they are 14-2 in games played, with a few more remaining before the playoffs begin next week. He presented the following awards: Offensive Player of the Year - Anna Hawkins; Defensive Player of the Year - Taylor Schlimm.Junior varsity softball coach Amy Popielski gave the highlights of the Lady Crusaders' junior varsity season.The Allen Kopp Memorial Award was presented to Kate Singer. Josh Gebauer received the Paul Sidoni Memorial Award. Extra Effort Awards went to: Kylie Auman, Dani Catalano, Karly Carnovale, Molly Eshbach, Taylor Frank, Torie Gradizzi, Jessie McLaughlin, Hannah McGowan, Tess Onink, David Bojalad, Tyler Herzing, Jared Schaut, Darren Simons, Dan Steudler and Harley Thompson.Distinguished Athlete Awards were presented to Megan Dornisch and Ricky Pearsall. Dave Geitner Memorial Awards were given to Emily Gregory, Ellie Petrosky, Josh Gebauer and Eric Wehler.Scholar Athlete Awards were presented to Anna Hawkins and Sam Schneider.The Athletic Association Booster of the Year Award was presented to John Kowach.